Wynonna Earp S01 Recap & S02 Theories

Ok, y’all. Wynonna Earp TV series will be back tomorrow, June 9, for its second season and I’m just here to do a quick recap of season 1, and also to put my theories for season 2 out there.

All right, I know this is an anime blog, but I thought this awesome series is not getting the popularity it so greatly deserves; its Facebook page only has 38K likes. To be honest, I didn’t watch this show until recently. I have seen some tags about it on Tumblr, where I think most of the fans are, but I never really checked it out. I only decided to see it last month because Supergirl (SG) season 2 was ending and I wanted to have another series to watch. A YouTuber I’m following, who’s also watching SG mentioned that Wynonna Earp (WE) is what they’ll watch while waiting for SG season 3, so, that’s the story why am I now in the WE fandom.

I binged the entire season in 1 night, and God, it was great. It was just awesome. Ok, here’s a very quick recap of season 1.

Warning: Spoilers ahead!

SEASON 1

   

Wynonna Earp, goes back to her hometown of ‘Purgatory’ on her 27th birthday and reluctantly, at first, becomes the next Earp heir to inherit the power of Wyatt Earp’s ‘Peacemaker‘ gun and continues the long line of attempts to break the Earp curse.

   

She, along with her smart little sister Waverly, Deputy Marshall Dolls, and Doc Holliday (and later with Nicole too) start with hunting down the 7 demons aka ‘Revenants’, Wyatt’s resurrected outlaws, who attacked their home, took and killed their older sister, Willa Earp, and what caused Wynonna to accidentally kill their father.

 

Everything gets even more chaotic & confusing for everyone when an amnesiac Willa happens to be one of the girls Wynonna helped during a mission, and Bobo, the Revenants leader in Purgatory, seems to be interested in the eldest Earp girl.

  

Willa regains all her memories and turns out to be on Bobo’s side, but only Waverly realizes this. Willa & Bobo’s plan is to leave ‘Ghost River Triangle’, where all revenants are imprisoned, and let everyone in town perish. By doing so, all revenants will be able to get out to the world, and all other evils will be able to get inside the Triangle.

   

Clever Waverly secretly takes Peacemaker so Willa & Bobo failed to cross the boundary since the Earp heir needs to have the gun when she crosses. Unfortunately, Willa finds out it was her who took it, and she holds Waverly’s girlfriend at gunpoint. Wynonna, finally aware of Willa’s motive, was reluctant to give the Peacemaker but eventually give in after her little sister pleaded to save her lover.

   

 

Wynonna & Doc chase Willa & Bobo to the boundary and Willa manages to get outside of the Triangle after an injured Bobo lets her escape. Wynonna eventually ends up shooting her older sister to death, with Peacemaker, when one of the monsters from outside the Ghost River Triangle captures the latter. Said monster turns into ashes though when it tried to get inside the boundary while chasing Wynonna.

   

The series ends with Wynonna killing Bobo, Dolls being taken by his superior for disobeying orders and Waverly being possessed then aiming a gun at Wynonna.

Cast:

  • Melanie Scrofano (Wynonna Earp)

  • Dominique Provost-Chalkley (Waverly Earp)

  • Shamier Anderson (XavierDolls)

  • Tim Rozon (Doc Holliday)

  • Katherine Barrell (Nicole Haught)

I tried to make it as short as I possibly can, but yeah, that’s the shortest summary/recap I came up with lol.

Anyway, let me list a few things I love about the show.

 

#1: I love the all the main characters. Every single one of them is awesome, seriously. There’s literally no way you’d hate any of them, hell, even Bobo was likable! For my fave, it’s actually a very, very close fight between the 3 girls (Wynonna, Waverly & Nicole). But then, the one character who just melts my heart every time she smiles is Waverly. She is just a pure, adorable, little cinnamon roll angel and she must be protected at all cost. This is why I got so freaked out when she turned into like Dark!Waverly at the end of season 1.

#2: Really cool story. Amazingly written. Every episode keeps me at the edge of my seat. All hail Emily Andras.

#3: The cast/characters have amazing chemistry. I mean, you could pair up anyone of the 5 and they’ll just click, you know? Like, you could put anyone together and they’ll fit, no matter how different they are. I’m not talking about sexual/romantic chemistry here, it’s just that, everyone has a great dynamic with each other, like, there’s a tandem for everything; BFF, rivals, partners-in-crime just everything. Bless these actors/actresses.

#4: WayHaught. In the world of Television, where there’s a lack of wlw stories, WE gives us the pairing of Waverly Earp & Nicole Haught. They are adorably perfect it makes me cry tears of joy. And creator/producer Emily Andras already guaranteed the gays will live, just like what we saw in season 1. Bullet-proof vest, y’all!

#5: Wynonna & Waverly’s sisterhood (Sorry, but I’m leaving Willa out ‘cuz she’s evil, especially to my baby Wavs.) This is the thing I love most about the show. The sibling love they have for each other. My heart just flutters whenever Wynonna gets all protective of Waverly and when she calls her ‘Baby girl’. More than anything, their relationship is the heart and soul of the show.

There’s a whole bunch of thing to love about the show but here’s my top 5.

So, tomorrow, the much awaited season 2 begins. Y’all probably saw already the trailer, but here it is anyway.

Now if that didn’t get you pumped up, then there must be something wrong with you.

Basing on that trailer, I have a few theories I’d like to share.

Theory 1: About Waverly, I think she’s not actually possessed, but rather, she really has some Demon blood/power in her. The reasons on how I came up with this theory were, 1st, Bobo said on the final episode of S01 that Waverly is not really an Earp. 2nd, on the trailer, it seems she can control her ‘demon powers’, like turn it on & off, or at least it shows up when she’s in danger. The dark liquid thing she touched probably triggered her demon side to awaken.

Theory 2: Still about Waverly, she either didn’t tell the gang about her new found power, or the gang knows but they’re kind of cool with it because Waverly can control it, at least to some extent. In the trailer, it doesn’t look like they’re wary of her. Also, she didn’t  tell them, especially Wynonna, what Bobo told her at the Treehouse.

Theory 3: I don’t think the barrier of the Ghost River Triangle was destroyed when Willa crossed the boundary, mainly because the moment Wynonna got back inside the boundary, the giant worm-snake monster turned into ashes. So, if that’s the case, the rest of the 77 revenants are still within the Triangle, and the other evil things are still outside.

Theory 4: In relation to theory 3, I think Dolls will break out of prison using his supernatural powers, that is if the Military base/prison he’s in is outside the Triangle. Wynonna can’t leave the boundary or else all hell will break loose, quite literally. I actually wanna see Dolls use his ware-wolf power to escape and get back to the team.

Theory 5: JC, the old guy who just appears and disappears after talking to people. Obviously, he’s not human, he’s not a revenant either, but Bobo knows him. I have 2 guesses here; 1st, he’s an angel, but he’s more of like an observer only of this war. I actually saw a similar theory on Tumblr, stating that since there are demons, there are also angels in this story. 2nd, he’s a demon, a powerful/high-ranked one, but he wasn’t killed by Wyatt so the rules of the boundary don’t apply to him. I couldn’t seem to have an idea about his motives though.

Theory 6: The ‘shovel talk’ of Wynonna & Nicole will be intense. Actually, I’m pretty sure this ain’t just a theory, based on what Emily Andras & Kat Barrell said during ClexaCon; Wynonna being very protective of her little sister, and about the scene with Melanie that Kat mentioned was brilliantly written and she was so looking forward to. I’m really hoping the shovel talk is what Kat was talking about. I want a confrontation scene between protective Big sis and protective girlfriend.

Again, folks, these are just theories I made up. Don’t take these seriously, ‘kay?

Anyway, my expectations for the show? Well, I only expect it to be so awesome, I’ll be blown away. Hell, just seeing a more badass Waverly blowing shit-eaters off with her shotgun is enough to get me all hyped also, Waverly in a cheerleading outfit dancing for Nicole? Haught damn. Like what Dominique said during ClexaCon, season 2 will be on a much higher level than season 1 and I am excited as hell for that.

My entire being is ready! Bring on Wynonna Earp season 2!

 

I do not own the pics & GIFs. Screen shots are mine tho 🙂
This entry was posted in opinion, TV Series, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

